© Bath Preservation Trust
- Beckford’s Tower was designed by Henry Edmund Goodridge in 1825 and completed in 1827 for William Beckford (1760-1844), one of the nation’s most accomplished and interesting characters. The 120-foot neo-classical Tower, which enjoys uninterrupted views of the countryside, was constructed as a study retreat and to house Beckford’s precious collection of art and rare books. The surrounding Victorian Cemetery, containing William Beckford’s tomb, was in his lifetime part of a beautiful pleasure garden known as ‘Beckford’s Ride’, which ran from his house in Lansdown Crescent up to the Tower at the top of Lansdown Hill. The Tower is now home to a museum collection displaying furniture originally made for the Tower, alongside paintings, prints and objects illustrating William Beckford’s life as a writer, collector and patron of the arts. Spiral Staircase Visitors can follow in Beckford’s footsteps and climb the spiral staircase to the beautifully restored Belvedere and experience the spectacular panoramic view of Bath. The Tower is an extraordinary building that stands today as the only surviving example of William Beckford’s great architectural achievements. Beckford’s Tower & Museum is owned by the Bath Preservation Trust, and administered by the Beckford Tower Trust.