© Image courtesy of Biker_Jun @ Flickr
- One of Abingdon’s oldest and most beautiful buildings, the County Hall was built between 1678 and 1682 by Christopher Kempster, a protégé of Sir Christopher Wren. It was built to house the Berkshire Assize Courts, which for 200 years bore witness to some of the county’s most important criminal trials. The County Hall, now a lively and modern Museum, houses three floors of exhibitions with a diverse collection of local social history and archaeology, ranging from evidence of pre-Roman settlement to an in-situ MGB Roadster, one of the last to be produced in the Abingdon factory. Visitors can enjoy breathtaking views of the historic town and the surrounding countryside from the rooftop of the Museum, while the newly restored Mouse Hole cellar café provides delicious lunches and drinks, with special Rooftop Teas during the summer period. With changing topical exhibitions and special events all year round, the Museum is a must see for anyone visiting South Oxfordshire.