© The Burrell Collection
- When Sir William Burrell and his wife, Constance, Lady Burrell, gifted his collection of over 9,000 works of art to Glasgow, the city acquired one of the greatest collections created by one person. William Burrell had been an art collector since his teens, and the collection is made up of a vast array of works of all periods and from all over the world. In 1944, Burrell and his wife signed the Deed of Gift of their collection to the City of Glasgow. They wanted the collection to be housed in a building 16 miles from the centre of the Glasgow, to show the works of art to their greatest advantage, and also to avoid the damaging effects of air pollution. Sadly, no suitable site had been identified by Burrell's death in 1958, but Mrs Anne Maxwell Macdonald and her family gifted Pollok House and 360 acres of Pollok Estate to the City of Glasgow in 1967. Although within the city boundaries, it was agreed that this offered a wonderful setting for the collections. The Burrell was purpose built, the result of an architectural competition, and opened in 1983. Care was taken to ensure harmony between the building and its collections, and the park it is situated in. The light and airy building, its woodland setting and the amazing breadth of Sir William Burrell's collection make a visit to The Burrell Collection an experience not to be missed. The park and woodland offer plenty of outdoor activities too - why not come for a walk and a picnic, or see the changing seasons reflected in the trees? Pollok House is also situated in Pollok Estate, about 10 minutes’ walk from the Burrell Collection, and a shuttle bus service runs between the two museums.