The Gunpowder Plot: Parliament & Treason 1605
 
Go
 
Parliament in 1605
The Palace of Westminster and Westminster Hall
The House of Lords
 
    Children's Zone    
   
 
Pictures, documents and story of the Plot for a younger audience
 
   
  KS3 & KS4 Teachers' Notes    
Accessibility
The Gunpowder Plot: Parliament & Treason 1605
Home Plot Parliament People Timeline  
 

The Palace of Westminster and Westminster Hall

Home > Parliament > The Palace of Westminster and Westminster Hall

In 1605, as today, Parliament was based in the Palace of Westminster in London, a complex of medieval buildings grouped around Westminster Hall, originally a royal palace. Following a fire in 1512 the Palace was abandoned by monarchs and became the site of a variety of government offices, including the Royal Courts of Justice.

The picture below, engraved by Wenceslaus Hollar in 1647, shows part of the palace from the river, including Westminster Hall and the House of Commons. The House of Lords is out of the picture, to the left of the House of Commons.

Explore the image to find out more
   

Palace of Westminster Collection

The plan below was drawn in the early nineteenth century for a reconstruction of the Palace of Westminster as it stood at the beginning of the fifteenth century.

Despite the fire of 1512 there had been little change to the main structures by the time of the Plot. Alterations between the 1790s and 1820s and a great fire of 1834 were to destroy almost all of these buildings except Westminster Hall.

Explore the image to find out more
   

'Foundation Plan of the Ancient Palace of Westminster', J. T. Smith, Antiquities of Westminster (1807). Parliamentary Archives.

Westminster Hall was the main building of the medieval palace and still stands today. The drawing below shows how it would have looked during the seventeenth century.

Shows a drawing depicting Westminster Hall showing a large gothic-style window at its end. Wooden benches are set against the wall beneath the window and several figures are either seated or milling around in the foreground.
Zoom
The wooden structures housed the court of King's Bench (left) and Chancery (right) until the eighteenth century. These were removed for occasions such as coronations and major state trials.The south end of Westminster Hall, Anonymous, Anglo-Dutch School, c. 1620. © Trustees of the British Museum.
Westminster Hall remained the site of the law courts until their relocation to the Strand in the nineteenth century.

Back to Parliament

 
About Us | Contact Us | Credits  
  Site Map | Copyright & Legal Statement  
 
Parliamentary Copyright House of Lords
2005 & 2006
Parliament
 
 
24 Hour Museum
The History of Parliament
 
 
The Parliamentary Archives